BTA Chief Inducted into AWTE Honours List

British Travel Awards’ CEO Lorraine Barnes Burton has been inducted into The Association of Women Travel Executives’ (AWTE) prestigious ‘Influential Women in Travel, Tourism and Hospitality Honours List’...

AWTE Chair Debbee Dale said women nominated by members to join the AWTE Honours list were women of influence, who have shown strong leadership and were inspirational women who raise the bar in their respective fields within travel and tourism.


Lorraine Barnes Burton developed the British Travel Awards to become the largest independent awards scheme in the UK since she took hold of the reins in 2008 and turned it into the only purely consumer voted awards programme for the travel industry .

The BTAs award over 140 travel companies each year, based purely on the opinions and votes of the travelling public and under Lorraine’s guidance and passion for the travel industry she serves, the BTAs now includes significant independent media coverage for nominated companies from BTA partners in national media print, TV-broadcast, on-line and outdoor advertising.

Lorraine said she was thrilled with the recognition from AWTE: “ I am passionate about the benefits of Award schemes and the recognition winning an award brings. Winning a BTA certainly is a valuable accolade that consumer recognised brands can use to enhance their own sales propositions.

“In 2011 I won AWTE’s Business Innovation Award and now I’m thrilled to receive another honour from the organisation – I know exactly why the BTA winners get so excited!”

AWTE is a member organisation that provides women in the travel industry with a programme of professional development seminars, workshops and events for business improvement and networking. A not-for-profit organisation, the AWTE is run voluntarily by a board of experienced senior women in the travel sector.

Voting procedures and results independently verified by

Creative and technical
resource partner

Trade media partner


Loading RSS feeds...
Print Print | Sitemap Recommend this page Recommend this page
© UK Travel Awards Ltd

Web design and data compiled by