BTA 2024 - Nominations & Applications

Details of the category grading can be found below the contestants listings. Some contenders have been selected by the BTA panel based upon previous consumer votes cast. These companies will appear on the main voting form but WILL NOT have access to the BTA official lobbying assets unless they submit their nominations by 10th May.

Hotel Chains

Last updated: Nominations closed

A50 Best Hotel Brand for Luxury Breaks

Atlantis, The Royal

Constance Hotels & Resorts

Four Seasons

Hyatt Regency


Mandarin Oriental

Radisson Blu

Ritz Carlton


Waldorf Astoria


A51 Best Hotel Brand for Premium Breaks

Atlantis, The Palm


Crowne Plaza

DoubleTree by Hilton

Four Points by Sheraton

Hyatt Place


Pullman Hotels



A52 Best Hotel Brand for Midscale Breaks

Best Western Plus

Hampton by Hilton

Holiday Inn

Leonardo Hotels

Mercure Hotels

Novotel Hotels

TRIBE Hotels

Warner Hotels


A53 Best Hotel Brand for Economy Breaks

Best Western


Greene King

ibis Hotels

Premier Inn

Quality Inn




A54 Best Hotel Brand for All-Inclusive Resorts

Club Med

Dreams Resorts & Spas

Iberostar Hotels & Resorts

Paradisus by Melia

RIU Hotels & Resorts

ROBINSON club resorts

Sandals & Beaches Resorts

Secrets Resorts


With no unifying or uniform rating system adopted for grading hotels, the British Travel Awards position hotels based upon market class, a system developed by respected hospitality analysts STR. Census data from hotel brands detail average published room rates across various room sizes at different times of the year. If participating hotels do not submit this information, their published rates are used to estimate their average daily rate. Average daily rate is calculated by dividing room revenue by the number of rooms sold.


Market Class is a categorisation of chain-affiliated and independent hotels based upon their average daily rate, compared to that of chain hotels in their geographic proximity. This can be a city, group of postcodes, region or country with at least 30 participating hotels. If your hotel(s) or brand is not featured, find a listed chain, with comparable published room rates in your area, to identify which award category to enter.


There are six recognised market class groups: Luxury, Upper Upscale, Upscale, Upper Midscale, Midscale and Economy.


For the British Travel Awards we use the collapsed market class model by combining groups:

  • Best Hotel Brand for Luxury Breaks
    • STR Market class: Luxury and Upper Upscale Chains
  • Best Hotel Brand for Premium Breaks
    • STR Market class: Upscale Chains
  • Best Hotel Brand for Midscale Breaks
    • STR Market Class: Upper Midscale Chains
  • Best Hotel Brand for Economy Breaks
    • Midscale and Economy Chains
  • Best Hotel Brand for All-Inclusive Resorts
    • All-Inclusive Hotels & Resorts can also register in the market class categories
Print | Sitemap
© UK Travel Awards Ltd